Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHCs)

Defined for the first time in the Excellence in Mental Health Act, Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinics (CCBHCs) are designed to provide a comprehensive range of mental health and substance use disorder services, particularly to vulnerable individuals with the most complex needs during a federal demonstration program with participating states. States must certify that each CCBHC offers the following services either directly or through a formal contract with a designated collaborating organization (DCO). Through the demonstrating, the following services must be offered and will be paid for even if they are not included in a state’s Medicaid plans:

•Crisis mental health services including 24-hour mobile crisis teams, emergency crisis intervention and crisis stabilization* 

•Screening, assessment and diagnosis including risk management* 

•Patient-centered treatment planning*

•Outpatient mental health and substance use services*

•Primary care screening and monitoring**

•Targeted case management**

•Psychiatric rehabilitation services**

•Peer support, counseling services, and family support services**

•Services for members of the armed services and veterans**

•Connections with other providers and systems (criminal justice, foster care, child welfare, education, primary care, 

hospitals, etc.)**

*CCBHC must directly provide
**Maybe provided by CCBHC and/or DCO